Before and After

Tomorrow a film crew arrive from Wales to record (yet again!) the experiences of children, of which I was one, in the Welsh TB sanatorium, Craig-y-nos castle.
 
Well it reminded me to dig out these two photos. The one on the left was taken with my best friend Rosemary and myself .For over six months, maybe longer we were inseparable and shared many escapades together yet when we met some 50 years later (second photo) she could not remember me.
 
I was shocked.  Not matter how much I prompted her with stories and photos of our shared past experiences she had no recollection of them.
 
It was a salutary lesson on how fickle memories can be and it makes you think: who writes history?
 
Covid update. Tonight I met a young man  staying with a neighbour who has just had his third vaccine. He is a London NHS worker and he is taking part in the medical trial for the booster dose . He doesn’t know which vaccine he received though what made this one different from his first and second is that he did have a reaction, tiredness and lethargy , for one day.
He thought we wouldn’t see the peak of the pandemic before September.
But the  good news is that the vaccines work

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.