The Secret Garden

Our back garden is split into two areas, the front is the lawn and patios for playing, BBQ'ing, entertaining and lounging in the sun. A hedge, with three arches, runs the entire length of the garden with the 'jungle' at the rear.
It's not really a jungle but it does have Bamboo, Bay Laurel, Mayflower tree, large sprawling Grape Vine, and LOTS of bushes including the Loquat grown from a seed that I brought back from my hotel in Beirut
The birds, bees and insects love it and they are pretty much undisturbed, apart from a couple of times a year when we have a purge on the stuff that is just tooooooo overgrown.
In the picture there are two Honeysuckle plants (different colours) that we planted years ago. They've always been a bit straggly, they don't get much sun against that North facing wall.
I went into the back this afternoon and was faced with the sight of them in bloom, not all of it is out yet, but it did make me smile. Wish I could smell it, my two favourite plants for fragrance are the Honeysuckle and Lavender, but since falling off the ladder last September I lost my sense of smell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.