Pixelfoto's Journal

By Pixelfoto

View From the Loo

This morning we had arranged to meet Wendy, aka Viewpoint, in Helmsley. We arrived at roughly the same time so once we had paid our parking we walked through to have coffee at Mannion & Co. Unfortunately they were closed - I heard somebody in the coffee shop we chose say that it was because of Covid and that another coffee shop was also closed. Fortunately there are a lot of coffee shops to choose from in Helmsley. The plan then was to go and have a look around the walled garden which is always looking good at this time of year. You guessed it, they were closed. Apparently they don't open on Mondays and Tuesdays and I didn't think to check. After a quick re-think we decided to go to Rievaulx Abbey. The only problem being that we had to book a time first. At least, eventually, I got a 3G signal and managed to book (not easy on a phone when you have to add each visitor's details). Fortunately there were two parking spaces when we arrived (just) and the café had a very tasty sweet potato and courgette soup with granary bread on offer.

Although I took some photos of the Abbey I liked this more. When I went to the toilet there was a small window made of hammered glass and I rather liked the distorted view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.