TINY?

When Angus & I walk, I always look for the COOPER'S  HAWKS who
have nested & raised young, in the tall pine trees behind my house. 
These pine trees seem to be their home base; & they often sit together in the same spot, during late afternoon.  The nest is hidden in the densest, highest part of a different pine tree.  Even with binoculars, there is no trace.

Sometimes I see them flying together, or alone, being harassed by the
crows.  Once I saw an adult dive bomb into my neighbors front garden to grab a mouse. I suspect the headless rabbit carcass that mysteriously appeared in my back garden, was dropped by a member of this family.

Most often I see them far from home, patiently sitting on a light pole, silently looking for the next meal.  In the distance, they look TINY & can be
mistaken  for their nemesis, the crow.  Up close, their full regal size 
becomes apparent.  This is no tiny bird.  When I took this Blip, the HAWK sat undisturbed; & the sky created a lovely background.

A few years ago, I read we should spend 20 minutes each day in our garden, just observing.  Then we should keep a daily log of the activities of the animals who live nearby.   It is a good idea....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.