100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 86

There are plenty of flowers in the garden at the moment, but I wanted to move away from flowers for today’s abstract, so before he left for cricket this morning I asked Mr HCB if you could find me something in the garden that wasn’t a flower.

He came in with what I am sure you will recognise as a broad bean pod. Of course, if I had just taken a photograph of that and put it up as my blip it wouldn’t have been abstract, so I had to do a little bit of fartnarkling with my iColorama app and this was the result. 

I faffed around with it for a while and then found that I could change it to purple, my favourite colour, add a frame and here is Number 86 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which I am doing to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, a wonderful charity that gives impoverished girls in North Malawi the chance to have a good secondary school education.  

I have been looking on the internet to find out more about girls’ education in Malawi and note the following:

“Girls spend considerable time doing different chores at home before going to school and also after school.  Most girls spend two to three hours on chores in the morning and four hours is often spent on different chores after school, which includes preparing the evening meal - so many of them find it very difficult to fit in time to do their homework.  The time spent doing household chores instead of homework causes many pupils, especially girls, to have to repeat classes.

Lack of jobs for pupils, especially for girls who complete schooling, is a manor setback for communities and pupils.  Education is seen as a means of securing children for future employment.  Therefore, if there are no jobs in rural and urban areas for pupils who have completed their education, parents and pupils in schools become discouraged.”

 "Don’t ever think that just because 
     you do things differently, 
          you’re wrong."
Gail Tsukiyama 

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.