Frontier

By Frontier

Apartment Block and Sky

Photek - Consciousness

A hot day that suddenly turned into heavy, torrential, life halting storms. This stopped trains for a while and had many worries. It subsided and like all things… passed.

Watching an old Japanese drama crime mystery tv show which is similar to Columbo. I’m not a fan of Columbo, but the director of this tv series is none other than Mitani Kouki. He’s a cinematic gem that is shamefully not known around the world. He’s pretty close to Billy Wilder and Robert Altman (for always having a stellar cast). That’s a big call, but so are his films. His last film at the cinema is the first Japanese film I saw at the cinema without subtitles. My Japanese is extremely poor, but because of the clear cinematic style, editing and story telling (and help from my wife), I could really enjoy it. If you can get a copy of any of his films with subtitles, I highly recommend them. Billy Wilder is one of my favourite directors of all time, and Mitani Kouki films are a hoot, compelling, funny and healthily cynical to sanctimonious self righteousness.

Check out:
The Magic Hour
Radio Time
Family House

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.