A botanical Trio.

As Jerra recently remarked - either we've seen a lot of species/varieties new to us - OR - we've become exceeding rusty in our advancing years. We both still recognise Eyebright however. I remember Mam reading to me about "The Flower Fairies" 
L   O.  N.  G.  ago.

"Eyebright for letter E:
Where shall we look for him?
Bright eyes we’ll need to see
Someone so small as he.
Where is the nook for him?


Plus two. more verses by Cicely Mary Barker; written, as near as I can find 1923.  Apparently she died comparatively recently 1973 - so I'd have been about 31 then.
: ¬ (O)
Neither of us, however, knew what its small white companion was. It's also the second Speedwell we've seen this month other than the "Germander Speedwell" we learnt of as kids.
NO! NOT a Gerrymander Speedwell - add to dictionary SHARPISH!


"…and finally Cyril?" © Esther Rantzen. 
Extra #2 - I've never bothered to ID it, but I've also never seen it growing thus and struggling so valiantly to survive amidst the stones, the vast expanse of which I violently pruned, or you'd hardly have seen it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.