NinjaShoe

By NinjaShoe

7 stages of.....

This is my view of the conductor/director of "Beauty and the Beast", musical that I have volunteered to play in. This is the second musical I have ever been involved with and have decided that for me the process goes through a number of stages.

Stage 1: Enthusiasm - yeah - I can do that, it's ages away plenty of time to familiarise myself with the music.

Stage 2: Ambivalence- forget about it entirely

Stage 3: Regret - Oh my God this thing is going to take out evenings of my life, what am I going to do about the kids/dog/taxi service/tea time.

Stage 4: Terror - (After first rehearsal) when I realise that I have no idea where the notes go and at what speed. That everyone else is far more capable than I and that the cast have put months of work into this and I am going to ruin it by being so rubbish.

Stage 5: Application- now I have seen the task ahead I need to learn it!

Stage 6: Enjoyment- great to be part of this - am trying my best, who cares about the missed entries and wrong notes, everyone is listening to the singers anyway.

Stage 7: Satisfaction - Great team, great talent, can't believe it's over.

Am stuck between 4 and 5 at the moment and unfortunately there is not a lot of time since the dress rehearsal is 2 days away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.