Buzzing and Fluttering with Life

I walked around the garden this morning and stood a few minutes by the oregano that is slowly taking over the whole flower bed. It is in full flower and so appreciated by honey bees, bumble bees, butterflies, and other insects. The sea-holly is the same, and even wasps are flocking there.  I love to stand and listen to the background, or should that be foreground, buzz of the bees and wasps, while I watch the butterflies silently flitting between the flowers.
Two butterflies got my attention as they sat still long enough for me to grab a picture or two. One orange with dark spots (extra), and one white with green veins in its wings.  The lighter coloured butterfly is actually called the green veined white, Pieris napi, (Rapsfjäril in Swedish). I couldn’t identify the orange one but any suggestions will be appreciated.
Later in the day we went out to lunch at Nordvik, took a swim in the sea, and later drove to town to visit Ruth and Mikael.  Jan wrote a fair bit about all this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.