Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Iona day 7 - Eye Bright

Iona is just full of the most wonderful wildflowers that I rarely see elsewhere, I've seen several types of orchid, lungwort, lousewort, ragged Robin, white and pink campions, gentian, rattle, heathers, thymes, bugle, buglos, daisies, speedwell, buttercups, honeysuckle, there are even some iris left, this tiny flower is eyebright which comes in a range of shades from white through pink to a bluey purple. It's one of my favourites.
Today is our last day here on Iona. The weather was mixed and the evening ended shrouded in a damp mist but there were some sunny spells throughout the day.
This morning we took the ferry across to Fionnphort, on Mull, to drop off the bulk of our luggage - non resident's cars are not allowed to cross to Iona so there is a large free car park up the hill before the ferry crossing. Dropping off the luggage today makes tomorrow's departure a lot easier. From there we went to the Argyll Hotel and sat in their garden enjoying a bowl of soup for lunch.
After lunch, we headed south and across the Machair for a final visit to St Columba's Bay. Gill and I parted company at the Lochan and she went off to explore some of the mini peaks to the west while I continued South, across the Heather and down to Columba Bay (extra). I pottered around quite happily for about an hour, enjoying the peace. I have never seen the tide so far out and I had the place to myself. As ever I gathered some special stones - not forgetting to say thank you by throwing a stone into the water to be sure I'll return.
I then walked back across the grassy plain and up through the bracken, past the scramble area and the heather to the Lochan. Gill arrived back there at almost the same time and we limped our way back over the golf course and the machair to the house. In my case hirpling as a result of the blisters I got on day one wearing my new sandals for too long.
We had time for a quick shower then we headed back to the Argyll to meet Cat for dinner followed by a communion service up at the Abbey. A very appropriate way to end our visit to Iona.
I'm now packed and ready for bed and will head off home tomorrow via two ferries and a long drive. I'll arrive hopefully by tea time after a wonderful week.
My own contribution to the SEC's year of pilgrimage. There were many times when I didn't think I'd get here, now I can't believe it's over and it's time to step back and re-enter my everyday routines. It'll be good to be home though, and to see everybody there, refreshed by time away.
Steps today 27, 570. Time for bed!
Stay safe everyone, thank you so much for all the hearts for my puffin yesterday. Apologies for my lack of comment and response to your blips, I haven't been able to get online much at all today, the WiFi has been down almost constantly at the house so I've been jumping on in hotels etc as I pass. It's brought out home to me how challenging working and schooling at home during lockdown in remote communities must have been with such poor communication.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.