An old-timer

I thought I would have an opportunity of getting a more interesting Blip  today when I walked downtown this afternoon to pick up a prescription from the chemist. Even that was a disaster as I realised when I'd got down that I'd forgotten to take a mask and had to walk in holding my handkerchief over my face! 

I was glad to get out and crossed the road to see what was going on around the harbour. It was then that I realised that I'd also forgotten my camera!

So it's back to the garden; this is Fuchsia 'Corallina', a spreading rather than an upright plant, introduced to cultivation in the UK back in 1843. For those who like the technicalities, its parentage is Fuchsia 'Exoniensis' x Fuchsia montana. Fuchsia 'Exoniensis' is itself a hybrid of Fuchsia splendens x Fuchsia magellanica 'Globosa'. So now you know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.