Corvallis to the Sea

My son Chris and I began a ride from Albany to the Pacific Ocean today on the Corvallis to the Sea trail.
It began very well with a 25 mile ride to the base of "Mary's Peak".
I was chagrinned to find that I had totally miscalculated the effort required to pedal my mountain bike up very steep gravel roads when loaded with 45 pounds (20.5 kg) of food and gear,.
I had to make a "strategic withdrawal" from this much anticipated ride... OUCH!
After we returned me to the start, Christopher was able to rejoin the trail to pedal onwards and upwards to the Big Elk Campground for the night.
Once again I learned the seven Ps:  proper prior planning prevents piss poor performance.
So sad to miss such an adventure with Chris!
I shall return to this Corvallis to the Sea route in the future for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.