Imagine the view....

By btc

Parklife: Sunday League football Hackney Marshes..

...the spiritual home of Sunday league football, with over 70 matches played between dozens of amateur teams every week. There are 82 pitches in all, including three rugby pitches and a cricket pitch, located on the northern edge of the Olympic Park.

The marshes each Sunday morning is swamped with a mix of young men and many more overweight middle aged ones, still living the dream of their sporting prowess, with wife's and girlfriend's stood on the side lines in the cold and rain more interested in their iPhones and blackberries but being supportive.

Not many children there though, which is a good thing with the tirade of industrial language penetrating the air from every direction, funnily enough in general aimed that their own team mates than the opposition, I can actually say that I learnt new swear words and insults today that I didn't know existed.

This is how Sunday mornings should be spent, so I thought that I would share the experience with you.

Thanks for the lovely responses for yesterdays blip and I can honestly say that if you are in the area for any reason you should pay it a visit.

Hope you have had a great Sunday. More rubbish weather due and I still can decide where I want to go to get some sunshine. Maybe I'll just stay here and continue my Parklife, I'm enjoying it.

Have a LARGE look at them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.