Living my dream

By Mima

A taste of Orkney

This is with thanks to IainatCreel and the Current Mrs Creel.

I have family links to Orkney, and went there many times when I lived the UK. It is the second best place in the world (after North Otago) and I miss being able to get there easily.

So when IainatCreel mentioned Carvie biscuits in a recent Blip I was assailed by a craving for one. They are delicious with butter and a slice of Orkney cheese.

Iain obliged me with a recipe and I’ve been experimenting today. These are the first attempt. They are definitely almost right. The second batch will contain a little less sugar and I’ll bake them more slowly.

But that notwithstanding the taste of the first attempt takes me back to Birsay, sitting by the whale sculpture watching terns and gannets while I snack.

Now I need to find some Orkney cheese….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.