Hovering Hoverfly

It's been the most gloriously sunny day, with just a little breeze to make it feel comfortable. On my morning walk I spotted this hoverfly, hovering in the sun, and after many attempts I just managed to capture this shot of it as it was about to land on the flowers for a sip of nectar.

It's still warm even now as I write at 9.30pm. My Editor and I even ate our evening meal outside at 8pm which is almost unknown for us after 36 years of living here - it's certainly unusual to be so warm in the northeast!

The intervening time was spent putting undercoat on the window I'm renovating, followed by some gardening. Altogether a lovely day. We're so lucky when there's so much awfulness going on in the world - including the dreadful floods in Germany, The Netherlands & Belgium, and New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.