Point and Shoot

By shirleypickford

Swan flies under bridge

After coffee I strolled away from riverside tables at The Moorings, Chester for a cigarette and managed to snap 3 pictures of a pair of swans flying up the river. I've waited unsuccessfully many times for a similar shot from my garden by the Dee estuary, with the camera ready, but this time was an unexpected surprise so I just did a point, shoot and fingers crossed. 

It was a lovely day to get a tree-shaded table, a hug and to stroll through Grosvenor Park and the Roman Gardens. The city was busy but inside shops people were polite with masks and social distancing, so I bought more than I had planned.

Although legal requirements for the pandemic are about to end in England, I live nearby in Wales so it might be interesting to observe changes in behaviour. For most of the time, it has felt safer in Chester than Flint, despite the statistics showing that infections have been lower in North Wales. Perception is a peculiar thing.

I'll keep trying to capture swans in flight from my home because I still can't believe how lucky I am to have a pair living just beyond my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.