SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Redgum platter

Another weekend - another day of dashed expectations.  So much I wanted to get done.  I did a lot but not what I expected and not as much as I wanted.

C'est la vie.

24 images taken and stacked with Helicon software.  The B/W extra is a depth map used by the software to (I guess) build the final image.  Each of the distinct lines in the "depth map" indicates (I guess) the bit that was in focus for each image (ie. there are 24 lines).  The grainy bits are (I guess) the bits considered to be not worthy (ie. not in focus).

You probably can't blow this up big enough, but the amount of dirt and dust on this platter is phenomenal.  I've added another extra that's about a 100% crop.  It also shows just how thin this piece of wood has been turned - one of my favourites!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.