It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Giant Redwoods

We left the house later than expected this morning. We headed out on the mountain bikes, along the coast & to Pencaitland. There was one stop for a wheat and poppy field pic. But that went wrong as the strap dangled over the lens without me noticing. 

There was a new wee cafe just of the trail called Rosearista, which was such a perfect location! Nothing like a cheese toastie and a piece of caramel shortcake at the halfway point. The nettle stings were tingling though. 

There was a headwind on the way back and I started to feel a bit tired. For the average member of the population feeling fatigue at the 2hr 30 point is acceptable, but not for me. 

After a sweeping descent, I could see a canopy of trees poking high into the sky. I've never noticed them before. But we stopped when we reached them, and Rosemary suggested they were redwoods. An internet search once we got home confirmed she was right. It was hard to get a good shot, simply because they were so huge. I love trees. It was sad earlier in the week because one of our favourite trees, an copper beech in Starbank Park was chopped down because it was diseased.

Anyway, the cycle home, via Musselburgh was tough. We stopped at the Jooglie Bridge over the Esk to joogle it. This was a favourite thing to do when I was wee. Many a happy walk was spent round the Grove and the river. I still managed a few sprints against Rosemary. I only slowed down on our one at Leith Links because it wasn't safe, and Rosemary won by about 1mm. The 2nd to the front door was less fun as she decided not even to contest it. It was hard to climb the stairs thereafter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.