Chemotherapy session 2

Back to Barts for another chemotherapy session, this time much shorter than the first. I had to wait for a while for the medication to turn up, and that allowed me time for a most pleasant conversation with a total stranger who found out he had kidney cancer around the same time as me. As they say, it’s good to talk... And it allowed me to be there when the woman who comes ‘round with lunch turned up. I swear she should have her own stand up show. She has a way of making everyone smile! And because we’re eating, we’re allowed to take our masks off temporarily and actually see each others’ faces - a rare sight and treat. Plus, the fabulous woman brings ice cream - for lunch! How could that not make you smile?

The session itself was fairly straightforward, no side effects at the time and only minor ones afterwards. The nurses on the ward are all top-notch. 

The view is also fantastic. The chemotherapy wards are on the top floor of the hospital so have the best views - something I really appreciate while sitting there for hours at a time. Today’s fabulous nurse suggested I see the view around the corner - see the extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.