Groovy

To me, groovy meant fashionable in the 60s
In my opinion Mary Quant was the epitome of the look l wanted to copy.
I so remember her coming to Leeds and bringing her collection of clothes to do a fashion parade in Schofields department store. For a short while they stocked some of her items.
Still recollect the colours were ginger and aubergine for that season and l think the other was saffron.
What l loved most about Mary was her haircut and l had mine the same for years.
Not an easy task with curly hair but l taught myself how to do a curly perm in reverse and instead of putting curlers in my hair when the perm lotion had been applied , you continually combed your hair straight for thirty minutes.
Also slept with a strip of brown paper parcel tape across my fringe ( bangs to my friends in the US) to keep it in place overnight.
All l can say is thank goodness for GHD electric straighteners these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.