One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Super Spreader Day

Out of my isolation, so a walk around the park this afternoon revealed that the fair was in town, just what you need during a pandemic, something that squeezes people together (even though it is outside the space between the rides will limit air circulation). Normally a fairground would give great opportunities for night time shots of the rides in action, but not for me this year, I am staying safe.

I thought the "Covid spikes on the 'globe'" somehow appropriate!
No elephant today, but the steam punk one is back outside the museum, so is likely to be featured tomorrow.

Went to the hospital for a procedure to measure the size of the prostate. PCR Covid test Friday, no call from them to say it was an issue (and a lateral flow at home just before leaving, all clear).

Arrived to be told that it had been cancelled, the receptionist was very helpful, checked with other staff to make sure, tried to contact the secretary who should have called me to tell me, but couldn't get her. 
Told that everything had been cancelled for today and that they would be in touch with a new appointment.

That appointment had taken 8 weeks AFTER being pushed up the list from a 16 week wait. Unable to contact the secretary who should have called me to tell me that the procedure was cancelled, so still no idea why, or when mine is likely to be rescheduled.

This government are wrecking the NHS, their policy of letting Covid run rife through the country is going to cost lives, not just those who contract Covid but also those whose treatments are delayed until it is too late.

Hopefully, that is not the case for me, but already the 2-3 months on a catheter is about to get to 6, without any additional waiting for the new appointment and then the wait for the actual operation.

I heard today that Luton Town FC legend Mick Harford also has prostate cancer, he will be receiving radiotherapy from mid August and won't be able to fulfil his role as the assistant manager while that goes on. Not a massive follower of football, even though my dad was, and my brother is still a season ticket holder. This still hit me surprisingly hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.