The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

The Blind Room

In between two hikes with the dogs, I squeezed in the Haegue Yang installation, The Blind Room, at the Walker Art Center. Hague's mind is a beautiful thing and her work leaves me in awe. This was a particularly powerful installation as the light played games with the blinds and the viewers' eyes and the singular source of lateral light transitioned across the room from radiant to seductively mild. All of this was created with inexpensive aluminum venetian blinds and discarded office products plue one theatre lamp and a few displays. You can enter the "room", sit in a chair and watch one of her video feeds. Her ability to create unique space within space is incredible. I have fancied her work since I first witnessed it in 2009.

Please excuse me but I have intentionally stayed away from screens this weekend. I even missed the broadcast of this season's inaugural race of Formula 1. I can watch F1 later this week but I cannot record a brilliantly sunny day on my digital recorder.

Please have a great week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.