Jailed!

An absolutely wonderful visit to the Old Adelaide Gaol with members of the Victoriana Society.  The weather held - cold but dry, and we had the best time.

This Society makes a point of dressing in period costume but they do it to the nth degree, making sure it is completely authentic right down to the stays and knickers.

I haven't quite got to that stage yet, but have started to make myself a bustle dress - or I would except that my sewing machine would only sew backwards, so it's gone into the repair shop.  They are so busy that it won't be fixed until September.  

So, I have decided to knit myself a shawl instead - there's always something to keep your hands busy in Victorian times.

The Gaol was closed fairly recently - in the eighties; Here's a link if you are interested. Adelaide Gaol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.