and shake...

Because of my sore foot, I've not taken Jess for her daily swim for a while and have felt sorry for her in the heat, not being able to take off her fur coat. She has been lying in the shade for most of the day but that's not really a lot of fun for a dog.

I've also been avoiding the Routin Brig because of the litter down there. I always pick some up when I'm down with Jess, but recently it's got out of hand. Someone was camping and the tent stayed for 2 or 3 weeks with a pair of shoes and other things outside it. Finally I plucked up the courage to unzip the front flap and there was no-one inside. So I just took home their trash and bundled the rest of the stuff inside, with a sleeping bag, a nice rucksack full of food and a portable gas cooker. I did worry a bit about the occupant but there was no sign of them or reports of a missing person. I did intend to return when I could to take some of it away.

This morning  I was awake just after 6 and read on FB about a kind person who had taken their 2 children down there last night and picked up a huge binbag full of litter (including kids clothes and inflatable toys..). I decided to walk (carefully and slowly) down there with Jess while it was still cool.

Jess had a lovely swim and I enjoyed putting my feet in the nice cold water. It was so peaceful down there, and best of all there was no litter. (Except for 3 McDonalds cups in the lay-by, which I took home).

THANK YOU! to Wendy, her children and the other litter pickers whom I have never met. I just wish you didn't have to do it.

Bivvy night tonight..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.