My Life With Luna

By chrisA

With Luna at Puppy Day Care we decided to walk from the National Trust car park at the Coastguard Cottages, Dunwich along the beach to RSPB Minsmere (no dogs allowed) and back through the forests to Dunwich.   It was another scorcher (27 degrees) so the breeze from the North Sea and the shade from the forest were more than welcome, although I did get bitten quite badly on my legs and hands by mosquitos/gnats.
We met a young warden from RSPB who alerted us that there were Silver Washed Fritillaries and White Admirals around the brambles along the way.   I was fortunate to see both on one bract of bramble flowers (my main picture) and we watched them flying hither and thither amongst the bracken and trees, such a wonderful sight as I'd not seen either before.
I've included a collage in extras which includes a Ringlet and a small gold one that I can't identify along with a pair of mating Silver Washed Fritillaries, a White Admiral, a single SIlver Washed Fritillary  and a snatch of Heather along the path back to Dunwich Coastguard cottages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.