Harmonious Ticket Office

I know one of the core aims of the Chinese government is to build 'a harmonious society' but I didn't think this extended to ticket machines in railway stations. This example of Chinglish here is in Guangzhou East railway station.

Early start today as I had to attend a meeting in Guangzhou. Before you get on the train you need your passport to buy a ticket then you and your hand luggage has to go through airport style security. Once through this you can claim your free bottle of 5100 Tibet Spring glacial water. Now that's a money spinner from the ex railways minister, Li ZhiJun, whose company now supplies all the railway stations with bottled water. It may interest you to know Mr. Li he's been fired. Why? You are going to have to sit down for this one. Fired on charges of corruption. Also I'm informed he lives in one of his several luxury homes in the USA.

I live in Shenzhen which is in Guangdong province and the provincial capital is Guangzhou. In Guangdong, as is in Hong Kong, Cantonese is the main language because Shenzhen has so many migrants from the rest of China Shenzhen is like a Mandarin Chinese speaking island in Guangdong. For me in meetings this is good I can roughly follow what people are saying but here in Guangzhou... 'Ting bu dong' = listen not understand.

I hope you have a harmonious day!

Added 21 March
I forgot to add the irony of this sign foreigners can't buy tickets here we have to show your passport to a real person before being issued with a ticket. This ticket machine is named after a train, yes, a harmonious train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.