Not Alkanet

In previous years I've pulled up all the little plants with leaves like foxgloves because our neighbour has a lot of alkanet ( which has leaves like foxgloves) on his drive, its invasive and I don't want it taking hold in our garden. However  this year I've let the plantlets grow until I can see the flowers just to make sure its really is the dreaded blue alkanet. 
In our scrubby bit of land behind the garage,  I have been rewarded with a few foxgloves and this rather splendid tall yellow thing.  No idea what it is. You can see the complete flower in the extra where Mr P is carefully strimming to avoid our new yellow resident. I'm feeling bad that I've been digging out baby foxgloves in the past . Maybe we'll get some more of  this yellow thing next year. 
 I'm tagging it for wildflower week but might be cheating because I've already tagged one this week.  I'm sure some one will tell me what it is

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.