... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

British Museum: Great Court Panorama

I reckon large ("L") is a must: the narrow format makes it too small otherwise...
This is 3 landscape photos stitched together.

I met a friend for lunch in a new café near Holborn called FreeState Coffee: they opened at the end of February and had created a pleasingly industrial-feeling space, yet the wooden tables, chairs, and panelling left it feeling warm in spite of the generally minimalist finish. It was a nice place indeed serving Union Roasted coffee from a very sleek and shiny La Marzocco Strada. They served my friend and me beautiful flat whites with lovely smooth milk (very well done!) and a pleasingly strong espresso blend (dark and traditional I'd say: quite continental but much more complex and interesting).

I was at a bit of a loss for what to blip: the weather forecast had said that there would be bright spells with sunny moments from about 11AM, but it was hailing then (...), and raining hard by midday. I hoped that'd I'd be able to swing by a pond on my way back from town, but thought it best to find a backup whilst there so I nipped into the British Museum and took 6 photos (3 portrait photos for a panorama, and 3 landscape ones). The light was very dim because it was so grey and overcast: it was so dark in fact that they'd turned on the lights in the main atrium which gave a very unusual light (usually experienced at night or in midwinter).
I'm pleased with the result: the portrait panorama looked far too distorted, but this one has worked satisfyingly, and I like the wide angle perspective it provided.
It is lucky that I took these photos, because it was still absolutely pouring when I reached Balham, so I just came home rather than getting drenched on a common...

p.s. There are more than a handful of people in this panorama even! (*gasp*)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.