Thread-Waisted Wasp

Another day, another insect.  This is a Thread-Waisted Wasp.  A new visitor to the garden for me.  Unlike other wasps, they are not aggressive and are solitary creatures.  They are parasitic on other insects and spiders.  If you want to read the gory details you can find them here.   The site is run by Britannica, of old encyclopedia fame.  We had a complete set of them when I was growing up and I would spend hours flipping through the volumes finding something fascinating on every page.  I was inspired to quench my curiosity, and I was a real curious kid, on the Mickey Mouse Club.  Jiminy Cricket sang this song and he also taught me how to spell the word.  To this day, I can't spell "encyclopedia" unless I sing it!  I guess Dr. Google is our new reference source but oh, the memories of those red volumes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.