Pointy building

Today was a day for doing more IT things:

* Computer 1 is my sister-in-law's old computer. Someone decided to buy her a new one to replaced it, and since then it's been gathering dust. I upgraded the memory in it, swapped the hard disk for a solid-state disk and then installed Linux on it a few weeks ago. It seems to be quite quick with all that done. I've set that one up for her partner to use, as he has been taking night pictures & videos with a trail camera.

* Computer 2 is the one bought to replace computer 1, but was actually so slow as to be useless, so my sister-in-law has actually being using my mother-in-law's computer which is number 3. Yesterday my sister-in-law dropped of computer 3 for her mother, so I've had today to complete the upgrades to this computer. Basically the same as computer 1, which is to upgrade the memory, swap the hard disk for an SSD and then install Linux.

* The final computer is my mother-in-law's computer (No 3.) which has temporarily lent to my sister-in-law but has now been returned. On this one it was making sure any of my sister-in-law's files were copied over to her reconditioned computer once I'd upgraded it, and then copying any files from (No. 2) that my mother-in-law had created, on to her computer.

After all this was done we now have:
* Computer 1, upgraded and a fresh install of Linux for my sister-in-law's partner. This one is empty.
* Computer 2, upgraded and a fresh install of Linux for my sister-in-law, with any of her files from it's previous life or computer 3 copied onto it.
* Computer 3, not upgraded and still running Windows, but with my sister-in-law's files removed and my mother-in-law's restored.
 
Tomorrow we take computer 1 and 2 and get my sister-in-law and partner all set up, while today I make sure my mother-in-law is all functioning with her computer after it's temporary loan.

Today's picture is from one of my various dog walks, and is the church in the centre of Arradon on a lovely sunny day. The extra is my mother-in-law's little caniche (poodle) who is looking very sternly in the direction that my wife went (to get bread) and isn't interested in anything else at the moment....!

Back blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.