Hover at Rest

This hoverfly really stood out from other insects today.  I think it was because it's more black and white than yellow. And that combination was a real contrast against the yellow of this helenium. The common name of which is sneezeweed. This was because the dried leaves were used to make snuff!

I got out my insect book when I got home, and I think this is Scaeva pyrastri or Pied Hoverfly. And it's female as it's eyes do not meet. The latter fact was something I'd not known about before. I love it when I pick up extra information about nature.

It's the last day of this mini heatwave in the UK, and I'm pleased about that. Much of the last week has been spent doing very little during the heat of the day. I'm looking forward to a more bearable temperature so that we can resume some longer walking trips again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.