My bougainvillea is happily flowering again

Two months ago I was very excited to see a bougainvillea plant in a small pot at a local budget supermarket. Normally I seldom indulge in buying such plants as they tend to have not been well looked after in their long passage to the store. But this time I couldn’t resist and thought that even if I could only enjoy it a short time I’d be delighted to be able to see its wonderful colourful flowers.

I spent most of my summer holidays in my teens camping for long periods by the beach in the south of France where bougainvillea was ubiquitous. I always liked it but hadn’t at that time learnt to love plants in general and their amazing flowers. My long distance travels and sojourns in places such as Turkey, Greece and later Mexico in the early 70s, and then south-east Asia and Australia in early 1980s all brought me to be wowed by abundant and often rampaging bougainvillea .

Bringing this little plant and its delightful flowers back home was thoroughly worth it, despite all the flowers dropping within a week in the sudden cool summer air. But I’ve persevered and protected it from cold nights by taking it inside when necessary, watering it carefully and dare I say giving it love and attention.

Now this is what it looks like in the recent hot summer days and nights. Not only have the pink flowers formed but also the white inner parts have grown well and are attracting insects. It is happy. I thought I would share it with all you fellow blippers on this Flower Friday in July 2021. I don’t expect it to last all summer, but I will bring it indoors again when necessary to keep it warm and hopefully it may survive the autumn and even the winter in the house on my study’s sputh facing windowsill. Fingers crossed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.