FionaGo

By FionaGo

2000 songs, this is how its done in 2013!

My husband bought me this tiny memory stick so that I could load lots of music onto it for my car.
It easily contains 2000 songs, which is pretty awesome. I could never have imagined such a thing when I first started buying records all these years ago.

My first car didn't even have a radio, but a friend installed a radio cassette and I spent many happy hours taping my record collection so I could listen to them in the car. And of course there was the delight of carefully assembled compilation tapes.

If you've seen my past two blips, you might be thinking I skipped a technology or two. Well, we do have a vast collection of CDs, but they are now stored in boxes in the attic, having been copied over onto a hard drive so we can stream music around the house.

I still miss the thrill of browsing through friends' record collections, and reading sleeve notes (or maybe I just miss being a teenager).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.