Surprise in Today's Mail

Well, I asked for a bookmark (if it wasn't too much trouble) to replace the one I lost that my brother laminated for me.  It was my all-time favorite amongst dozens. Imagine my surprise when I found all of this today, sent by a blipper friend whom I've already thanked personally.  I will carry HER kindness in my heart.  The sachet will be next to my pillow tonight.  I've actually been dreaming of adjusting my camera settings in my dreams lately!

Today it was announced that the Cleveland Indians baseball team will now be called the Guardians after these guys who I've adored since childhood - - -  so much I blipped about them - see journal and extra #2 here.  I have a policy of trying to only say positive things in my journal and never getting into politics because I don't want to add to the negativity in the world.  So I'm keeping my opinion to myself.  But they will always be the Cleveland Indians to me, my husband, my sister, and most of the older fans in Cleveland.   It's not a political thing.  It's a fan thing.They could have replaced the offensive logo with another without changing the name.  Our history is rich with indigenous people and we appreciate them and their influence. My husband is part Cherokee and he isn't the least bit offended by the name the Indians.

I finished The Searcher by Tana French, the first novel of hers that I tried.  I liked it a lot.  I'm now reading another by her called The Trespasser.  So far, everything about it is very different except that it takes place in Ireland.  I don't need American subtitles displayed as we do with Irish and Scottish TV!  I still look up some of the words though.  

Happy Friday!  And thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting the flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.