Masks off

Went into Hitchin for breakfast today and apart from a funeral yesterday, it was my first time out in public since freedom day on Monday 19th July. I have to admit I was surprised at the number of people still wearing a mask, Diana included. It is of course a personal choice and I respect the choice of those who choose to keep wearing a mask and I hope they respect my choice not to, at least where it's an option.

As for the funeral, it was a small affair which is hardly surprising under the circumstances but it wasn't too somber apart from the service itself but everyone had been encouraged to dress for a celebration of a life and for the most part, everyone complied, especially me which made for a less depressing day. I also learned a few more snippets of the family history both from the eulogy and from talking to the one last surviving relative of that generation on this side of the family which was really nice, I just need to write them down before they are forgotten. Most surprising for me at least was that the glass table decoration that I kept when emptying the loft of my parent's house after it was sold which I kept as it was a memory of my grandma (it took pride of place on her dining table) was actually one of my parent's wedding presents! i never knew that - Link

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.