YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Harvest Time

A lovely walk over the fields this morning.  It was warm but not quite as hot as it has been.

The crops are ready to harvest and it got me thinking about the Harvest Festival held at my school - until the age of 11 the school I went to was in my village and children from the age of 4 to 15 went there.

The Harvest Festival was a big occasion.  I think it was held in late September and was a cause for great excitement.  Our parents were invited to the school for a Thanksgiving Service.  Beforehand the children were asked to take in fruit, vegetables, tinned food etc.  The produce was displayed in the school hall.  The centre piece was a loaf in the shape of a sheaf of corn which was baked by the local bakery.  Later on the food was divided up and parcels were taken by the older pupils to the older residents of the village.  

I can distinctly remember singing 'We Plough The Fields And Scatter' and 'Come Ye Thankful People Come' with great gusto. 

Looking back I'm pleased that I lived in a village with a real sense of community.  

Have a great weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.