Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day out in the West End

No gym for JR today, but she lost a bit of weight anyway - she had a haircut. Wall to wall sunshine by mid morning. I wandered up to the chemist to get my prescription, and when I came back I met Robert, carry two coffees and two scones - he had intended visiting a friend who wasn’t in - so he visited us instead and we helped him.

Archie went off with Elizabeth for the day, so we took the bus down to the West End to check out if our erstwhile travel agent was open. They still have our deposit from the doomed Rocky Mountain holiday last year. They have had two shops in town, both still listed on Google. But neither exists. Why don’t they update their info? They have many offices in the rest of the UK. I will phone them on Monday.

However, plenty of places in the area for a treat. We went to a place we first discovered years ago, but somehow haven’t been back since, mainly because we don’t go to that end of town much. But Elizabeth mentioned it the other day. It’s called Le Di-Vin and it used to be a church. Everyone was sitting outside in the sun, but it was too hot for us. Besides, the inside is great. An immense zinc bar, with a huge array of bottles up the wall behind the bar, and a mural of famous Scottish and French folk. We got most of them. (Extra) We ordered a ‘Mediterranean flatbread’ each,  but in my excitement, I asked for a ‘vegeterranean’ one, as opposed to one with meat on it. Every single table was reserved for the evening - it’s obviously a popular spot.

And best of all, we could get a bus all the way there and back. And one was just coming. I LOVE that!

I’m a bit put out that I can’t get the Lions v SA games, but hey! There’s another ‘Hundreds’ cricket match on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.