JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Fashion targets breast cancer

Came across this poster in Buchanan Bus Station, Glasgow. It's a pretty powerful message, and one that was news to me. It's fantastic that the fashion industry is involved in such a movement - an initiative to be applauded, and one that other industries, or sectors, should follow on.

As a basic ad though, it's a bit well, basic. I'm not sure I'm getting the whole story from the one line. It's got me nodding approval more than wondering how I can get involved. The background border union flag is I guess telling me it's a British initiative , but I think I already got that. And the pouting pose is a bit too laboured and cool-attempt. Fashion targets breast cancer though, so in order to put across the target idea, we're going to use a target.

Yes of course I feel a bit off in criticising a charity campaign, but should I treat it differently? Should our counter line be 'at least it's doing good?' There's been some truly fantastic charity ad campaigns over the years - this fashion one, for a truly laudable cause I am very close to, is, well, a bit off-target.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.