The view from my seat!

With the worsening of F.M.i.L's dementia we don't think it's safe to leave her at church by herself. She's becoming frailer and has difficulty walking, needing to hold on to things. She's quite likely to wander off too.
So, it is safer for me to stay with her during the service. It's me as it is I who has been driving her to mass the past few years. I don't sit with her, there is a seat at the end of some side pews, to the right of the Altar. From there I can see her and just keep an eye on her.
The view of the Virgin Mary and the baby Jesus Christ is across the other side of the altar. Twice someone has come down to ask me if I want communion but I declined. I'm a christened Anglican (Catholic Church of England, King Henry the VIII's doing) but this is a Roman Catholic church. I've been lapsed for many years now, since I was about 15 so a fair old time. More of a 'Humanist' nowadays, although towards the end of 8 years in Saudi Arabia I was leaning toward Islam. Like all religions, it has a good base but attention is always on the bad elements, and that goes for the Christian faiths too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.