today's another day

By dbrereton

Race the Train

Today, I raced the train and lost, but not to the train.

I lost to a heart condition I have had since I was 14. Wolf Pakrinson White which leads to episodes of Supra Ventriccular Tachycardia. I had an episode at 5km and that was that. Bugger. 13km of the race left wanting.

But in world where it seems everyone is shit, more proof that it's not. I met Neil.

Neil was the back runner, taking down the signs, Neil was the guy who earlier had run the course in reverse to put up the signs. Neil was going to run it afterwards to go back for his car. Neil ran 30 miles today, good prep for his Lakeland 130 mile race in a few weeks.

Neil is one of those guys who despite everything that the world is throwing at us all, just does what is right. I made a point of telling the race organiser the same.

So I got the train from Summerseat and steamed past the runners that I should have been part of. I got a T shirt but no medal.

I did still manage a load of beer and a train home.

Ah well, It's part of me, it always has been, what can I do? Not much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.