memento

By memento

Homeward bound

One journey, followed by another.

It has been nine days since my mom passed away. The last five weeks, my three siblings and I, numerous doctors and nurses who, miraculously still do house calls, cared for her in her own bed, as was her wish. We hugged and kissed her a lot, till the very end.

It isn’t done, that journey. Her cremation won’t take place for several weeks due to the Covid spike. I can’t think about it because I will lose my mind. When my feet hit American soil, I have people who depend on me and I want to be present for them, even though I am leaving my heart behind.

I know that millions of people lose the ones they love, and now I understand the agony a tiny bit better. It has changed me; I feel a very urgent need to get as healthy and fit as I can, to be in control over that which I can control, and to love everyone more and better.

My mom started blipping a year after I did and she kept it up for twelve years without a gap. That was her; all out or nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.