1968

That was the year I went to school in Alsace in France.  The sister convent to the one I had attended in the UK.  It was going to be an exciting journey overnight from Dover on the ferry, and then train to Colmar via Paris.  Quite the adventure for two 16 year olds. But the night before was pretty exciting too.

As a birthday treat we were taken to see the newest show in London, Hair, with its outrageous lyrics and full nudity on stage.  Nevertheless we loved it, and my Dad bought me the LP. I took it with me and used to play it full volume in my room.  The nuns never batted an eyelid, but they did confiscate my copy of Bonjour Tristesse and destroyed it, as it was about a young girl having an affair with a married man, and not the sort of thing that should be available in the school..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.