I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Practicing

An early morning wander out to the Purple Sage practice arena gave this reporter quite a thrill. I watch Betty getting ready for the pollen packing event. You can get a glimpse of what she is able to carry just under her right wing.

This is the first time I have seen one of these magnificent athletes up close. They have not been spotted in this arena before today. (Full disclosure...I haven't really been looking for them up to this point. Normally, enjoying my cup of coffee at that time of day.)

Another storm swept through the stadium in the early evening. Most of the events had to be cancelled. Hopefully, the athletes were able to take some time to themselves and prepare for the continuing competitions.

I am grateful I listened to that little voice that told me to step outside and see what I could see. I see plenty of smaller honey bees and the likes, but loved seeing these gently giants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.