Fed with a silver spoon

Today I had my mother at home during the day.
In the hot afternoon hours we were under the protection of the air conditioning unit in the living room and she did not want to take a nap so I was talking to her but it is difficult to find a topic:  she is losing her recent memory and she only remembers things from her past.
 Most days I sing nursery rhymes to her and she accompanies me, or we talk about her childhood or about the times of war; but today I had run out of these issues.
I was also organizing the sideboard drawers when I found these cutlery.
She surprisingly remembered that the fork and spoon with my initials were a gift from my godparents at my birth, and I also remembered that she had kept them and handed them to me when I left home.

They brought to mind the expression 'Fed with a silver spoon' that an English colleague had taught me many years ago. We have no similar expression in Spanish, but it is easy to understand it.

I had no idea that I had been raised that way! That was not me!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.