JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 207: white roses

This morning I found that many more buds on the white rose I blipped on Friday had opened, making the heads too heavy for the slender stems and causing them to bend almost to the ground; so I decided to cut them to bring indoors. I found them near-impossible to arrange them in a vase, because they all wanted to curve downwards, hiding their faces - and I'm no flower arranger even with more co-operative subjects. However, they are such pretty flowers, with a delicate scent, and are now on an eye-level shelf where I can look up at them from my seat at the table; this is the ideal angle from which to view them, and will give me several days of joy every time I look up from my meals.

It has rained quite a lot today. This is good: it has been raining all around south east England over the weekend, excessively in many places, but rainclouds arriving at the western end of the North Downs often seem to divide, some continuing along the Channel coast to rain on Folkestone and  Dover, while others travel towards Canterbury and the Thames estuary. We are between the two, and much of this summer rain, which we need for the garden and orchard, misses us completely or brings only the lightest and briefest of showers. Today we were pleased to have enough rain to keep us indoors for most of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.