stuartjross

By stuartjross

Big Gorge Langwell

Our most cold site day for a long time, may be ever. We were working around a large hill loch north of Ullappol and there was an unrelenting east wind carrying blasts of dense wet snow. At times you couldn't look in to it and our hands need to stay ungloved to push keys on the GPS controller. I stopped several times and let the hands regain feeling in the relative warmth of the jacket pockets. The feet were soaked too because despite the air temperature hovering about zero or a little above the snow remained white on the ground for just a few minutes before being dissolved by water trickling over the bogland.
The full scope of the exercise is just unfolding as I review the data in the digs this evening. Looking out the window there is more white stuff blowing about even at sea level. I hope my road tyre equipped car can reach the site okay in the morning.

There is a massive deep gorge at the west end of the loch very close to where it empties. I am surprised more isn't made of it in tourist books because it is spectacular. This shot is taken where the burn exits the gorge. I am enjoying relative shelter here. I tried a shot from an outcrop directly above this point and all I got was a massive blur of driving wet snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.