Living my dream

By Mima

Better

Orkney carvie biscuits #2 attempt. (With further thanks to CMC and IainatCreel.)

The results are an improvement on the first effort 10 days ago. I amended the recipe to the following (in case anybody else wants to give them a go).

2oz caster sugar
1 beaten egg
4oz butter
7oz flour
1 tspn carvie seeds*

Mix and roll out to 1/2 inch thickness. Prick and bake for 30 minutes at 160C.

They are still a wee bit sweeter than I recall, so I shall reduce the sugar a bit more for the next batch. But these ones are definitely good.

In other kitchen news, I baked three loaves of bread (to be sliced and frozen to use when I want) and a cauldron of baked beans using some of last season’s borlotti-type beans and tomatoes from the garden.

And the sun came out again.

A good day.

*Carvie seeds = caraway seeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.