Gatekeeper

I've now reached peak field season burnout - not helped by the fact that Pete and Chris went off to Saltfleetby-Theddlethorpe NNR and I wasn't able to join them as I had too much writing up to do. But once they'd set off I settled down and made reasonable progress.I just need to survive the next fortnight or so! I chatted to a couple of people during the day, who were both feeling the same way - the perils of being a professional ecologist in a challenging season.

Between bouts of writing I spent some time in the garden, trimming back plants that had finished flowering and trying to exert some control on the most thuggish species. Alex chopped down a Canary broom that had got much too large for our patio, which has let in a lot more light. Fortunately, we have another seedling growing further down the garden in a more appropriate place. I also spent time watching the butterflies which have now built up their numbers - mostly various whites, but also several meadow browns and gatekeepers.

I considered going out for a late afternoon walk but it became very hot and muggy, so I couldn't work up the enthusiasm. I hadn't even though of dinner by the time Pete arrived home, but we all pulled together and made a very tasty Chicken Madras  - healthier and cheaper than the take-away we briefly contemplated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.