Rechargeable batteries in bits. I've been wasting my time again, on other peoples problems. Or at least, that's my excuse for not going out and finding a decent Blip. Darned chilly out there.

I like helping people, but I really must use the "No" word more often when folk come asking me to, "have a look at" some faulty gizmo. As often as not, the stuff is long beyond economic repair. Some of them are nigh on pleading, when I well know they're substantially better off than myself, and the items are near worthless. Too much of a soft touch I suppose. And they realize that.

One of the things that's really hacked me off, is a suspicion on my part, that a certain individual has told me some porkies - "It was really expensive," he'd said. Perhaps to whoever bought it new it was. But why was there a two pounds price sticker on the knackered item. I'm suspicious because it wouldn't be the first time that someone (RIP Patrick H.) bought stuff at a car boot sale, following the logic that if it worked, he'd scored. If it didn't work, Muggins would fix it for nought, so he'd still scored! Failing that he'd sell it on at the next sale. The previous guilty party also sold on something I'd repaired for him, and gleefully told me how much he'd made on it. Of course, no consideration went to the person that had raised the value of the item...

There's an alternative, to saying "No." Well, several really... "Let's see, you want me to give up my time to try and fix your gadget. I hear that the local TV repair shops have an upfront rate of £40 to look at items. So how much are you willing to donate to charity X, for me to do the same? Actual fixing it, if possible, is extra. As are any parts used. Oh and there's wear and tear on tools..."

Or, how about, "Whilst I attempt to fix it, will you pay back my time by doing my: cleaning/cooking/gardening/painting and decorating/shopping/ironing/vehicle maintenance/... ?"

- - - - - - - - -

[Edit:] Have just noticed I was doing something similar a year ago! At least that repair had some good laughs associated with it, if not any rewards...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.