Support

Today is Palesa's daughter's first birthday. 

A former student who is now a lawyer in Washington, D.C., along with a friend who is a filmmaker, created the Go-Fund-Me for Palesa’s children. The video is made from an “interview” I recorded at Oliver Tambo Airport  with Palesa in 2010. A special bank account for donations has been established, and a trusted fiduciary has agreed pro bono to send money to Palesa’s sister once a month for as long as the money lasts. If they raise $10,000, and if the exchange rate for the South African rand remains about the same, it should last 20 years and take the children to adulthood at a subsistence level. If they don’t raise that much, they will send what they have, in small amounts over time, and it will be some help. Of course I am grieving that we didn’t establish such support for Palesa when she was alive. Grieving that we could not give her more years to live with her children. 

The photo of fencing around Dungeness crab pots in Newport, which touts itself as the “Dungeness Crab capitol of the world” seems to me to suggest support. My thanks to those who have already contributed and to Sunny Sipe, our publicist for the fundraiser, and to all those who are doing what they can to support the children. Many are choosing to remain anonymous, and I won’t know who they are, as I am not an administrator of the funds, but I bow to all who have been generous in any way they can be. Money cannot bring her back or erase the grief, but perhaps it will help Lebo with the three children who now depend on her, if she manages to stay well and to live long enough.

I have not responded to your many hearts and comments, as I have been unable to function properly, but I am reading what you say and feeling your emotional support, which matters to me. You are so kind. I hear you, I appreciate you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.